Paula Deen Admits To NOT Being A Racist On The Today Show

After standing Matt Lauer up last Friday, Paula Deen gathered the courage to appear on the TODAY show for an exclusive interview Wednesday morning. While Deen tried to be cool, calm, and collected addressing her past usage of racial slur, Lauer seemed to hit her where it hurts throughout the entire 13 minute interview, leaving her in nothing but tears. The live conversation can be described in one word… heartbreaking!

Right from the start, Lauer pretty much made it clear that he was not happy with the Georgia native ditching him last week. He wanted to make sure Deen understood he was in control of the entire conversation… not her.

But despite all the interruptions and demanding answers Matt forced upon her, Deen was able to get her two cents in about the real reason she wanted to have the interview saying:

 “The main reason I am here today, Matt,” she began. “It’s important to me that I tell you and everyone out there what I believe and how I live my life. I believe that every creature on this earth  . . .  was created equal. No matter who you choose to go to bed at night with. No matter what church you go to pray.  Everyone should be treated equal. That’s the way I was raised. That’s the way I live my life.”

Eventually Lauer’s persistent aggression towards her forced The Best Dishes host to break down, making things quite uncomfortable as a viewer. She began rambling on about how hard it has been consoling her friends and how she has received nothing but “wonderful” support from Reverend Jessie Jackson…

…uuuum what?

After more then 13 minutes of watching this emotional sit-down, Miss Paula Deen decided to directly address the camera with these parting words:

“If there’s anyone out there that have never said something that they wish they could take back. If you’re out there please pick up that stone and throw it so hard at my head that it kills me. Please, I want to meet you. I is what I is, and I’m not changing.”

Make sure you watch the full interview above!

Enhanced by Zemanta
Leave a Reply

